Twenty Two, the Hidden Milestone

DSC_0079

On Monday, I started a new year of my life. At first glance, there is nothing special about being 22. It isn’t really a milestone birthday, but all of the sudden it sneaks up on you, this is an important year full of important decisions and events. In the next two months I am finishing a senior design project, I am looking for a full time job, I am graduating from Purdue, I am saying goodbye to college friends, I am moving out of my apartment and I am going to Europe…that is just in the next two months! If this isn’t a milestone year, I don’t know what is!

The year a person graduates from college is always a big year, it is the time you enter the “real world”. You are about to become a tax payin’, loan payin’, 8-5 workin’, “real person”.  It isn’t always year 22 but that is how it worked out for me, so I have to make it count (like Jack and Rose…minus the whole iceberg thing).

I recently decided Chicago is where I want to go after Purdue, decision made, yes! I had an internship there in the summer of  2012 and fell in love with the people, the architecture, the sights, the festivals, the churches, the art…it was a culturally stimulating experience and I barely brushed the surface of the things to do there, so the Chicago exploration will continue. Though if I don’t get a job first…I may just have to look into street performing (joking but not joking).

Before that adventure can begin I have to finish strong at Purdue. Two weeks from today I have my senior design final presentation. I won’t lie to you, senior design has been a more than challenging experience, then again group projects usually always are. They’re kind of like arranged marriages. And then you have this ‘baby’ of a project that you have to raise together.

I’ve learned a lot from my project, my class in general has prepared me for what it might be like working with all different kinds of people at my future place of employment. No matter how this project ends up, I’ve grown as a leader and as a person from this project, so that’s something.

From there, it’s turning in projects, taking finals, packing up the apartment and walking across that stage. Followed by a thirteen day European tour through eight countries! On June 4th I’ll come back…hopefully to a place to work and place to live…

It’s going to be a busy, and kind of scary, year all around, but I’m excited for what ever else 22 throws my way!

One thought on “Twenty Two, the Hidden Milestone

Leave a Reply

