Musical Monday: My Current Top 10 Shower Songs

Sometimes… I sing. I sing in my room,  in the car,  at work, when I walk to class,  when I ride my bike, when I’m at the bar, when I’m at a concert and also, like many, I sing in the shower. Music is a huge part of my life, I was around thirteen when I realized how much I loved to sing. My mom got a karaoke machine that I slowly began to take over. When I was in eighth grade I sang in the talent show and performed “How do I live” by LeAnn Rimes, I won second place! In twelfth grade I finally had to the time in my schedule to join choir, where I developed my skills as an alto singer. My freshman year at Purdue I performed “Beautiful Disaster” by Kelly Clarkson in Residence Hall’s Got Talent. My sophomore year at Purdue I was in the All Campus and Community Choir.

Though I am not a part of a choir right now, my love of singing has only grown since then. Whenever karaoke is available I will participate. I know the lyrics to an uncountable amount of songs but I have a few favorites I like to sing. Songs make the favorite list for a few reasons, either I like the meaning of the lyrics, the song fits my range, the song pushes my range, I like how the song makes me feel, the song reminds of something or someone or it is just a cool or fun melody to sing.

I have this speaker, the HMDX – Jam Wireless Portable Speaker, that as you can see here is a little smaller than a squirrel (ha..don’t ask me why that was a chosen comparison)  it connects to your phone’s Bluetooth and you can listen to any music that comes from your phone. It works very well for parties, barbecues outside, tanning on the beach, and well, the shower! So here are the top 10 songs I’ve been singing and that my roommates are probably tired of hearing:

1. I Was Here by Beyonce

Best line: “I wanna leave my footprints on the sands of time”

Why this song: This is on Beyonce’s album called 4 that I had purchased because of the song “1+1”, one day I listened to the whole album and this song stuck out, I was inspired by the lyrics, so I then listened to it on repeat until I knew all of them.

2. Burning Bridges by OneRepublic

Best line: “There’s no filling up your spaces with fictionary places, Imaginary faces they don’t work at all”

Why this song: This was another accidental discovery. I bought OneRepublic’s album, Native because of “Counting Stars” and “Feel Again” but I heard “Burning Bridges” and became addicted to it.

3. The Great Escape by Pink

Best Line: “‘Cause the passion and pain, Are gonna keep us alive someday”

Why this song: Once again, I bought an album for one song and was pleasantly surprised to find another. “The Great Escape” has quite the message.

4. Oh Darling! -Across the Universe Soundtrack

Best Line: “Believe me when I tell you, I’ll never do you no harm”

Why this song: I absolutely love the movie Across the Universethey definitely put a twist on The Beatles’ music.

5. Let Me Be Your Star – Smash Soundtrack

Best Line: “The music starts playing, It’s the beat of her heart saying…Let me be your star.” Why this song: I’ve always been intrigued by musicals and what it would be like to perform on Broadway, this is why I liked the show Smash.  Smash aired for two seasons on NBC with Megan Hilty and Katherine McPhee, who performed this beautiful song that was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Song Written for Visual Media.

6. Save Rock and Roll by Fall Out Boy feat. Elton John

Best Line: “I will defend the faith, Going down swinging, I will save the songs, That we can’t stop singing”

Why this song: When Fall Out Boy came out with a new album I was ecstatic, then I saw Fall Out Boy and Elton John…how can you not be intrigued by that?! I was again, pleasantly surprised.

7. Lovin’ Touchin’ Squeezin’ by Journey

Why this song: I love me some Journey. I can’t say I really relate to the lyrics but it’s a fun song to sing with some attitude. I sing this on Karaoke a lot…and maybe once on Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LIGiGam9IlE

 8. 1+1 by Beyonce

Why this song: I heard a girl audition for a talent show with this song and thought it was a really beautiful song so I looked it up and added it to my repertoire.

9. Don’t Rain On My Parade – Glee Soundtrack by Lea Michele

Best Line: “But whether I’m the rose of sheer perfection, Or freckle on the nose of life’s complexion…”

Why this song: When I heard Lea Michele sing this song on Glee I just fell in love with it!

10. Hand in My Pocket by Alanis Morissette

Best Line: “I’m brave but I’m chickenshit”

Why this song: This was the first song I sang at Purdue, they had karaoke at the Purdue Memorial Union during Boiler Gold Rush (our freshmen orientation week). I love Alanis’ lyrics.

Have a Musical Monday! Don’t be afraid to sing out loud!

 

Leave a Reply

