There’s Nothing Like a Dive Into Good Music

LSD3LSD2

In honor of National Poetry Writing Month and my most recent study music, another poem based on songs titles.

A friend of mine recommended Lake Street Dive to me a few weeks ago, I can’t get enough. Lake street Dive is what you might call Indie Pop, Jazz or Soul. The band consists of Rachael Price (lead vocals), Mike Olson (trumpet, guitar), Bridget Kearney (upright bass), and Mike Calabrese (drums). Check our their music and much more here: http://www.lakestreetdive.com/. Below is a poem I wrote using the song titles of their 2011 album.

Don’t Make Me Hold Your Hand, Ellijah.
I Don’t Really See You Anymore.
I may be Miss Disregard,
but My Heart’s in the Right Place,
you’re My Speed like staying in the lines
but I never loved you, or Henriette.
It’s Funny Not to Care,
you and the Neighbor Song
Got Me Fooled.
Even though We All Love the Same Songs,
when you say Hello,
I’ll say Goodbye!

I highly recommend their most recent album Bad Self Portraits as well!

Enjoy a few of my favorites!

You Go Down Smooth

Rabid Animal

Neighbor Song

Rich Girl, Originally by Hall & Oates

Check out my last song title poem using Katy Perry’s album Teenage Dream here!

Leave a Reply

