Musical Monday: Songs People Might Not Expect Me to Like

Ever since I was young I have had a wide music taste. I like all sorts of bands, singers and musicians. I can appreciate music on a variety of levels. Really all it comes down to is do you like it or not? Who cares what genre it is, listen to what you like!

I have to admit though, I am a rocker. I grew up listening to classic rock, rock and 80’s bands. My parents always had music playing! We would listen to BonJovi, Journey, Aerosmith, Metallica and many more. But I also have an older brother who, listens to a ton of music but, got me into a type of music I didn’t think I would ever like…metal (and sub-genres). He had scary posters of Slipknot and Mudvayne on his wall and he listened to these songs that just sounded like screaming (and then there was the whole pig squealing thing…I don’t know) but then I realized that it wasn’t all yelling. Some of these bands have unbelievable musicians and really powerful lyrics, with not only strong vocal chords for screaming but really good singing voices.  A lot of people find this music offensive or scary or depressing…for some, it probably is exactly that, but I’m here to tell you today that I like it….not all of it, but a considerable amount. I don’t enjoy a song of constant screaming, there are some songs like that and I don’t know how these singers still have a voices. A lot of these bands mix it up with some of what might sound like screaming and then some “regular” singing too. They provide great music particularly for when your working out, but maybe that’s a personal preference of mine.

The following five songs are by bands I appreciate for different reasons, some are on the tamer side of “metal” but all of them have been classified somewhere under genres or sub-genres including: progressive metal, progressive rock, metalcore, deathcore, screamo, post-hardcore, metal, alternative and punk….don’t let these scare you away, really, this doesn’t necessarily mean Satan worship or dark lyrics…I won’t lie sometimes it does (more so with goth metal, death metal, black metal, and blackened death metal…I know, it’s confusing), but the point I’m getting at is no matter what the subject matter and no matter what the genre says it is, there are good songs and really talented people out there.  These songs are in order, of what you might call intensity of sound, from lowest to highest. Subject matter varies, but all of them have some sort of message or story as well as interesting musical progression. Give ’em a shot if you would like!

City of Angels by Thirty Second to Mars

In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3 by Coheed and Cambria

Can You Feel My Heart? by Bring Me the Horizon

 Sometimes You’re the Hammer, Sometimes You’re the Nail by A Day to Remember

To Play Hide and Seek with Jealousy by Famous Last Words

 

 

Leave a Reply

