It’s Temporary: The Legal Clinic

Living in Chicago has been a blast. I’ve met so many new people, been to cool places, and I love my program thus far! I am almost done with my first film project! The tough part has been finding a job.Β  I applied to many different places in retail, restaurants, studios…nothing was working, until last Friday! I had an interview for DePaul’s Student Temporary Services and I was offered a job that day! I started work this past Monday.

What this means is I am basically a Temp worker for the university. My manager is contacted by different departments around DePaul’s campus when they need extra help in their office or on a project. If it works with my schedule then I could get assigned to that department for the time needed. My first job has been at the DePaul University Legal Clinic as a receptionist. Today is my third day, it’s been an experience. I don’t know much about legal advice or how law school is structured but I’m beginning to learn. One thing I know for sure is that the DePaul Legal Clinic does not take walk-ins!! The number one kind of call I have been receiving is people looking for legal council. Part of my job is to refer these callers to surrounding clinics..so if you need a legal referral in the Chicago area, I’ve got your back.

It’s challenging to be a temp…getting to know a new office, learning the best way to contact each person in the office, knowing who to ask what, knowing who comes in when, relaying messages, answering different types of phone questions (that usually I have know idea how to answer..especially legal advice, thank goodness for the trusty binder they gave me) and basically just figuring out their office flow.

Nobody likes change, I can imagine having a temporary receptionist or office person is frustrating…they are supposed to know things..and their the one asking questions? Fortunately, I’ve been lucky at this first job. Everyone has been really nice and helpful. I will definitely learn a lot as I float around to different departments; about different topics and about different styles of office life…it’ll be an educational experience and kind of a human experiment at the same time.

The best part about this job now is that it is in the building next door to my apartment building. I currently exist among four buildings and they’re all within a block! I hope this continues throughout the Winter!

This song doesn’t totally apply…but like me, It’s Temporary.

Leave a Reply

