We’re Gonna Be Best Friends

It’s hit me. I’m already losing my childhood memories. I am twenty-two, I am still in school, I am in my “adulting” phase…there’s lots of things on my mind but I haven’t traveled to the past in a while. The topic for today is Imaginary Friend and the truth is I don’t remember if I had an imaginary friend. I feel like I was definitely the type of kid that would have an imaginary friend but he/she/it obviously didn’t leave a very big impression on me so maybe we didn’t get along, if he/she/it grew up along side me we definitely grew a part and are of different crowds in the world.

I do, however, remember my first real “BFF,” which now that I think about that, the forever part of our friendship may not seem to be true in the sense that we still hangout, but the memories…those will last forever.

On the first day of first grade I sat at the tiny desk with my name on it, a girl sat next to me at her tiny desk and the first thing I said to her was, “We’re gonna be best friends.” Wouldn’t ya know it, we became best friends. I was shy then too, I’m surprised I was so forward but apparently the tactic worked.

Me and this girl got our ears pierced together. We joined cheerleading together. We went trick-or-treating together. We ate stuff-crust pizza and we watched the movies Enough, Gothika and Wrong Turn more than the average person ever has.

Gosh, we used to pretend we were fishing in the ditch in front of her old house…we would catch fish (leaves) with our fishing poles (sticks)….that’s right we basically sat there in a ditch stabbing leaves with sticks..we had top-drawer imaginations. Also, I can never thank her enough for teaching me how to ride a bike, how to rollerblade…how to be a little adventurous. I was a big chicken as a kid and let’s face it I wasn’t that coordinated but having a friend who believed in me, that was nice to grow up with.

As time passed we branched out. In middle school and high school we joined different clubs, played different sports, had different friend groups. But the great thing was we were never hostile, we just drifted a part. Still today I think we can both look back at our friendship in fondness. We have friends in this world for a reason, a season or a lifetime. And even if it isn’t a lifetime, something from that person still stays with you…a lesson, a skill, a memory, something!

So thank you (if ever you read this, you know who you are), for being my first real friend. Thank you for finding my tooth in your front yard the time we were eating brownies on your front porch. I wish you and your wonderful family ever happiness and success in this world. And I am so sorry for the time I kicked that exercise ball out from underneath you and you fell flat on your butt.

Peace and love, my friend.

Leave a Reply

