We’re Not Perfect

I’ve realized today, I am too much of a perfectionist to write about something for ten minutes and be happy with it. I chose a topic 3 or 4 different times to write about and either got interrupted…since I’m at work…so my thoughts got interrupted or I think to myself, “This sounds dumb, reset the clock.”

One reason I like to blog is because it challenges me. It tests my creativity, my writing, my thought process and other things I didn’t even realize, like my perfectionism.  I don’t like to fail, I hate the feeling of looking dumb or being judged and that is just stupid because the fact is this, it is going to happen. There is a 100% chance I am going to fail, I am going to be wrong, I am going to look like a complete idiot at some point, perhaps more than once a day. I just need to (wo)man up and deal with the fact that I can’t be perfect. I catch myself sometimes with that feeling deep in my stomach like someone is in there punching or squeezing something to remind me, “hey, you might be wrong” “you can do better” “why the hell did you just say that?” “you totally had food in your teeth for that whole conversation” then finally my brain catches up and is all like, “Kelli, you’re fine. You are human. You are overthinking this.”

So ladies and gents, I am not perfect and neither are you. So let’s be wrong , let’s fail, let’s look like an idiot because in the long run those moments won’t matter, they will fade, and having experienced those bad times we will appreciate the moments we are right, the times we succeed, and the times we feel like we are on top of the world even more.

Ready, Set, Done

Leave a Reply

