Lost and Unfound

purseThis week has not been the easiest. I was so excited to be home in Michigan for my mom’s 50th birthday, when I got off the Megabus on Sunday evening I left my purse behind. Yes, my blue Italian leather purse that I bought in Florence, Italy last June on my Europe trip. The really sad part is this is the second time I’ve left it behind in the past two months, but this time, I think it’s gone for good.

This also means I lost my credit card, debit card, DePaul ID, CTA UPass, driver’s license, awesome ID case I got in Boston, my 16GB SD card, my compact mirror I got from a good friend of mine, a necklace from my mom, my good chapstick, movie tickets I hadn’t put in my collection yet, possibly a flash drive, and a brand new pack of gum.

Most of these things are replaceable, and overall I’m handling the loss quite well. Luckily, my purse had seen better days and was wearing out anyway, though it would have been a nice keepsake. I waited until today to seriously act on the situation, I finally received a response to my lost item report from Megabus and they said they were unable to find it so I figured it was time.

I canceled my credit cards, a new Discover Card is on the way! I went to Chase Bank down the road from me and got a new debit card right then and there. I was there for five minutes tops. What a wonderfully convenient service, thanks Robert, from Chase Bank!

Next, I was off to the DePaul Center to get a new DePaul ID ($15) and a new UPass ($50), I have to wait a week for the UPass but at least it’s all taken care of!

Now I have to figure out my driver’s license situation…The license I lost was from Indiana, (the vertical pre twenty one years of age kind, I guess I finally have a reason to get a horizontal one). But technically, I am a resident of Michigan now since that’s where my parents moved to, and I physically live in Illinois, needless to say getting a new license is going to be a process. The good thing is I don’t have to drive in Chicago, so it can wait, and now I have another purpose for my passport!

My lesson learned from this…This happens to everyone at some point, somehow, and it is inconvenient but there are a lot of helpful people and companies to help you through it. More importantly when the bus driver says make sure you have all of your belongings as you’re leaving the bus, MAKE SURE YOU HAVE YOUR FREAKING PURSE!

One thought on “Lost and Unfound

  1. Patrick Tynan

    LOL, we have all lost something, similar to your experience.

    all you can do is not do it again, and by telling other people of your experience may prevent them from the same thing.

    Learn from you mistakes Honey,

    Love,

    Dad

Leave a Reply

