The Wonderfully Blank Pages

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma.”

This Daily Prompt was from a few days ago, but I’m given it a go for today!

Something the most people probably don’t know about me….

Well, some people know about this, particularly my close relatives, but most people don’t know that I, Kelli, am addicted to journals.

There is something exhilarating about filling the wonderfully blank pages with my thoughts, findings and ideas throughout my days. I have a journal from middle school, from high school, from my years at Purdue, from my internship/summer in Chicago in 2012, from my summer in Boston in 2013, from my 12 days in Europe and I currently have one that I started when I began classes at DePaul. But also, I have one I write film/creative ideas in, I have one I write poetry in, I have one I write quotes in, I have one I write about my family in, I have one I make goal lists and write about milestones in, I have one I write about sound in, one I write about editing in, one that I draw in and one that I carry with me in my purse for notes on the go.FullSizeRender

Maybe this is too many…but some how I keep it straight. And I love it. My life is going to be well documented, and since about 2010, a lot of it is documented in cursive, because why not…it’s a dying art.

Now that people like my mom and my aunt know about my journal fetish…they buy me more. And sometimes I just can’t pass up a deal at TJ Maxx or Target…”Journal for $3.00! Yeah okay, I’ll use it eventually!”

My journals have sort of become scrapbooks as well. When I was in Boston I started taping in little memories of the places I went to go along with my writing. I’m the kind of person who likes to save silly stuff like a napkin from a coffee shop with its logo on it (don’t worry it’s unused) so I decided why not incorporate those things in my journals instead of having a box of stuff I don’t always remember where I saved it from.

It’s a strange bit of my life that not a lot of people know about, that’s for sure. But it’s a very important part that brings me so much joy. I get to read what my past self wrote (some of it really childish and goofy) and realize that I really am growing as a person, as a writer and as a creative thinker.

Cheers to all that write in journals, keep it up!

3 thoughts on “The Wonderfully Blank Pages

    1. Are you familiar with the brand Moleskine? They have lined, unlined, and graph pages..as well as other specialized journals. They’re a little bit expensive but you can buy them at Barnes and Noble. I’m sure they’re are other brands, or you could look for a sketchbook at a store like Blick, Hobby Lobby or Michaels and use it as a journal.

  1. Hi Kelly, your love for keeping journals resonates very well with me, it is good to know that someone else keeps journals. You have motivated me to have different ones. I have always kept journals for my faith journey and the keeping of journals inspired me to begin blogging.I find if I can not speak to people about how I feel and whats going on in my life I write in my journal. It is a place where I express my self. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

