Classic Monday

Sound, Speed. Camera, rolling. Scene 1A Take 1. CLAP!

Over and over I dream, shot 1, shot 2, shot 3, shot 4…but for some reason the shot never seems to change. The name changes and the director and the DP act like we’re getting somewhere but from my perspective it looks like the same shot. I look closer at the subject…it’s me! How can this be? I’m running sound, I have a mixer attached to me, boom pole in hand, yet right there in front of me is me! It’s weird though, I’m sleeping. Every time the director yells “Cut” actor Kelli wakes up hits the snooze button and goes back to sleep for the next shot…the next shot which happens to look exactly the same. The confusion builds in sound Kelli as the shots continue until I become more and more conscious and realize it’s almost 7:30 A.M. I get out of bed in a panic, I have to work at 9:00!

I take a two minute shower, make my outfit, hair and makeup look presentable. Usually I try to leave the house a little after 8:00 A.M. since the morning rush of the Red Line can take a little longer than the average commute to the Loop, I was pushin’ it.

Not only do I have to be at work at 9:00 A.M. but I have to return sound equipment to the Cage at DePaul. The equipment is due by 12 P.M. but I work until 5:00 P.M. The Cage opens at 9:00 A.M, how do I manage this? I have to be the first one in line at the Cage at 9, pray that the employees get to work on time and if I’m lucky I can be at my desk across the street at the College of Law by 9:05.

Needless to say by the time I get to the train stop this morning (with a suitcase full of equipment by my side) I came to terms with the fact that I’m going to be late. Stop after stop more and more people get on the train, it seems like even more than usual. My face is in the armpit of one person while my butt is against someone else’s, I start sweating in my scarf and leather jacket, feeling a bit claustrophobic. I close my eyes listening to Lindsey Stirling, trying to imagine I’m the only one on the train and it’s me playing the violin, it calms me down.

I open my eyes and look up to see what stop we’re at….North and Clybourn, then I read, 7:44 A.M. Wait, what?!

I start laughing silently to myself, I most definitely forgot to change my alarm clock and my oven for Daylight Savings. I’m not going to be late to work…I’m going to be early.

I celebrate my silliness with a lemon poppyseed muffin and a blog writing session.

Happy Monday!

One thought on “Classic Monday

Leave a Reply

